Alan Barnes - Sherlock Holmes Suite

Wednesday December 2

Alan Barnes - Sherlock Holmes Suite

Pizza Express Jazz Club, Dean Street, Soho, London

After a sold out concert in last year’s EFG London Jazz Festival, Alan Barnes, the multi-award winning instrumentalist, arrives at Dean Street, with his Octet, to play his innovative writing and arrangements of the Sherlock Holmes Suite.

Hail a Hansom or flag a cab – the game is afoot!

This full-length musical/literary performance explores the characters, atmosphere and stories of Sherlock Holmes by means of readings, commentary, and a set of brilliant original jazz compositions.

Performed by an all-star group, the musical portraits depict Dr Watson, Moriarty, the Tiger of San Pedro, the Baker Street Irregulars, “the footprints of a gigantic hound”, and of course Holmes himself. The music is descriptive: The Dancing Men is a dance macabre for stick men and woodwind, The Hound of the Baskervilles is set for baying trombone as Sir Henry runs for his life, and Moriarty, the Nemesis of Holmes, justifies his sinister Ellingtonian march.

Barnes likes to say that he discovered Sherlock Holmes and Charlie Parker at the same time in his life. And in his imagination the pea-soupers of London’s Baker Street meld seamlessly into the reefer-smoke of the basement clubs of New York’s 52nd Street.  

The narration by Barnes , of whom the Guardian has said
he could be a comedian, if jazz ever fails him” is humorous yet full of affection for these unique characters and stories.

This event is un-missable for anyone who likes Sherlock Holmes, swinging jazz, intrigue and mystery. 


Heres some tastes of the Sherlock Holmes Suite




Every jazzer knows Alan’s  brilliant playing, but his lesser known writing and arrangements are pure world class” – The Hoste of Jazz


Bruce Adams — trumpet and flugelhorn

Mark Nightingale — trombone

Robert Fowler —  tenor and clarinet

Andy Panayi  — Alto/ tenor and flute

Alan Barnes  — alto/baritone and clarinet

David Newton  — piano

Simon Thorpe —  bass

Clark Tracey —  drums


Doors at 7pm

Music at 8.30pm

Tickets £27

Tickets not yet on sale, please check back soon.